Recipe: Peanut Butter Cookies

I always found it advantageous in my childhood having a father who is allergic to most nuts, and who, in addition to being allergic to peanuts, doesn’t even enjoy the taste of peanut butter. What this means is that, although I loved to share baked goods with other people, peanut butter cookies have always been special because I didn’t have to share them – or at least, not with so many other people.

Yet when I became vegan, suddenly peanut butter cookies were one of the most difficult things for me to make. Without egg to hold them together, it seems as though every recipe I tried out was too crumbly. That is, until Katie stepped in.

Katie is not only a friend, but also my former boss. She has been vegetarian for ages and went vegan around the same time I did. Well, she turned me on to this recipe for vegan peanut butter cookies, and they’re perfect. Since the first time I tried it, it’s the only recipe I use.

Furthermore, I made these for the boyfriend, who, like most Germans, had never had peanut butter cookies before. Now, these are gone in a matter of days, and when they aren’t in stock, he’s begging for me to make them.

This recipe is particularly great because it’s easy to double if you want more cookies. It tends to produce anywhere from 24 to 36 cookies, depending on the size. Additionally, sometimes I skip rolling them into balls and make them into shapes. This step merely requires a floured surface to keep the dough from sticking.

I also used Dutch peanut butter, which is available at literally every Asian shop here, and tastes way better than the generic American-style brand sold at major grocery stores.

Directions:

-Cream 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup peanut butter together.

-Add in 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 egg’s worth of egg replacer and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla.

-Sift 1 1/4 cup flour and 3/4 teaspoon baking soda, then blend the dry ingredients into the wet ones.

-Shape into one-inch balls and roll in sugar. Place on an ungreased cookie sheet and criss-cross the top with a fork (unless, as stated above, you wanted to get creative and use cookie cutters on them).

-Bake at 350 F (~175 C) for 10-12 minutes.

P.S. And if you really want to impress your fellow, in addition to cat shapes, make your own romantic gesture, like so:

