Recipe: French Toast

I woke up a couple weeks ago with a mad hankering for french toast. More specifically, I was craving the vegan french toast from Fellini (R.I.P.), and this made me realize that I’ve never actually attempted vegan french toast on my own. That said, I had to try it.

After scouring the web for a recipe that sounded good, I opted to use the one on About.com as a base and modify it slightly. First off, I didn’t use pumpkin pie spice. Secondly, the recipe on its own produced soggy bread. So at the suggestion of boyfriend, I dipped the bread in flour before frying and that seemed to fix the problem.

Last night, we made this recipe for the second time, but instead of flour, used bread crumbs from a box. This seemed to be the secret ingredient we were missing, and I’d definitely recommend using this if you can (although the flour is a suitable substitute).

Finally, the amount of soy milk can vary, between 3/4 cup to 1 full cup, depending on the consistency preferred. And while the fellow added a pinch of salt, I didn’t really notice a difference in taste either way.

Directions:

-Mix 2-3 ripe bananas, 3/4 to 1 cup soy milk, 1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, and 1 teaspoon vanilla.

-Take bread and dip both sides in the mixture, coating it completely. Then dip both sides in the bread crumbs (or flour).

-Cook the bread with vegan butter in a frying pan over low heat. Flip when one side is browned, and cook the other until reaching the desired brownness.

-Top the completed pieces as desired and store any leftover batter in the refrigerator.

