Recipe: Pizza Crust

I’ve always been a pretty good baker, but for whatever reason, I’ve fallen short with making pizza dough. I always get the consistency wrong, or the taste, or I just totally fail at rolling it out into any sort of pizza-like shape.

So when my flatmate made delicious pizza crust, I asked her if I could have her recipe. She has a piece of paper hanging in the kitchen with the ingredients, and no other instructions aside from that. However, where it calls for milk, she puts in water. And when I make this, I put in all the dry ingredients and then the wet, although letting the yeast sit in water is also not a bad idea. To each their own.

Directions:

-Mix together 500 grams flour, 1/4 liter water, 100 milliliters olive oil, 1 tablespoon sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt and 1 packet (7 grams or 2 1/4 teaspoons) yeast.

-Cover with saran wrap or a cloth and let rise in a warm place for an hour.

-Use right away or save for later!

I’ve found that rather than trying to roll out the pizza crust after rising, it’s better if I refrigerate it, and then the consistency is much more pliable and much less sticky. It’s also smart to make the whole recipe, or double or triple it, because that way there’s always pizza dough available for pizza to be made. Or, depending on how you look at it, that could be a bad thing, although pizza for every meal is likely something the boyfriend would not disapprove of…

