Recipe: Pumpkin Pizza

Ever since I picked up some Muskatkürbis at a local market last week, I’ve been envisioning what I would do with it. I had assumed that pumpkins weren’t so seasonal around these times, but as the lady at the Bio vegetable stand told me yesterday during my trip to the Turkish Farmer’s Market, there still are a few varietals available now.

The night prior, I finally baked the pumpkin, using it to try out a pumpkin pizza, but it turned out uninteresting. So I decided to give it another shot, and ended up picking up another pumpkin, although I’m not certain of the kind, along with some arugula.

The first attempt relied upon a tomato base with baked pumpkin (sprinkled with brown sugar) on top, but it felt lacking. So, after scouring wide variety of recipes online, I decided upon one at Charm City Vegan, and set about to modifying it to suit personal tastes. Instead of featuring pumpkin as a topping, it was the base.

Because of the massive amount of pumpkin I had on hand, I opted to double the recipe to accomodate it. In hindsight, I maybe shouldn’t have, because it produced a lot of pumpkin sauce. Luckily, it tastes pretty good, and can be used again for more pizza or on top of pasta (as the original recipe suggests).

Directions:

-Cut the pumpkin in half and place each half facedown in a dish or pan filled with 1/2-inch of water.

-Scoop out the seeds and set them aside for roasting later (if that’s your thing).

-Bake the pumpkin at 450 F (~232 C) for 30 to 45 minutes, until the flesh of the pumpkin is soft and a puree-like consistency, then scoop it out into a bowl.

-Combine 15 ounces pumpkin puree, 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar, 2 tablespoons maple syrup, 1 cup water, 2 tablespoons tomato paste, 1 garlic clove and salt and pepper to taste.

-Bring the ingredients to a boil, then reduce to a simmer for 5-10 minutes, until the sauce reaches the desired consistency.

-Spread the sauce evenly on the pizza crust. Add desired toppings (in our case: onions and tofu ricotta, as well as arugula, but that came after it was done in the oven) and bake for the required amount of time.

-Don’t let your pizza cool; instead, cut it up and serve right away!

